Addendum -15 July 2012 – Boats, Germans in Milano, Diagnosis, and Visitors

Update to yesterday’s blog…

It seems I was not very clear on some aspects, so here’s more for those who care:

– If you want to see the boat Guido loves, and the only one he really cares about, it is here – Ours, Water Music,  has green canvas (the previous one had blue canvas)  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DKazHwtpz04
Now you may understand his love (after music, of course)…

Water Music

– Yes – the Germans opened fire on his apartment in Milano, as he and his sister were looking out the window.  He pulled her out, seconds away from the bullets.  One of their neighbors wanted to cozy up to the Germans, and told them that there were some resistance fighters on the roof of the apartment complex. Guido’s family lived on the 5th, and top, floor.

– Guido was not diagnosed with autonomic neuropathy at the Mayo Clinic or the Johns Hopkins Hospital. They could not come up with a diagnosis there.  The two surgeries were suggested by other doctors.

I am not myself. That’s why some of my writings may seem incoherent. They are! And I was not being ungrateful to some friends who still occasionally help us.  What I mean is that in general people do not understand  others’ illnesses, especially when they knew those friends at times when they were healthy. They want to come and visit, and they don’t know how difficult it is for us to tell them that Guido may have more stamina some days, but I generally don’t.  It is not pleasant for me to have to wave at friends from the upstairs handrail.  And even that is stressful.

Once again, if I don’t ask for specific favors it is because I can’t bring myself to do it. I feel that I am inconveniencing others, especially when I ask and they have to tell me they can’t help. Then I feel like hiding! It may sound illogical to some, but that’s exactly how I feel.  It is important for me to tell everybody about it.  Maybe some will begin to understand…

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Addendum -15 July 2012 – Boats, Germans in Milano, Diagnosis, and Visitors

  1. Dorothy Fleming says:

    Martha, I totally understand what you’re saying & what you’re going through, both you & Guido. I became disabled shortly after my husband died of Alzheimers when I was 45. Many people told me to let them know if I needed anything — you know how it is at funerals, it’s all a blur & names escape the bereaved. Never heard from any of the “do gooders” again. Hence, I struggled along on my own.

    Many days, if it weren’t for my precious dog, Maggy (as seen in many of my profile pics), & also my FB friends, I don’t know how I’d carry on. Yes, Martha, I empathize with how you are living now. I also understand your frustration with your doctors. I feel like we, the patients, are often experiments without answers. I’ve more or less given up on my doctor, except for prescriptions, & rely on my chiropractor to keep me as mobile as I am — which is a far cry from what I was. By the way, I’m 62 & hate to think what my future holds.

    It’s too bad we live so far apart — I’d love to meet you & do what I could for you. Given that we’re in different countries, I’m glad that we have met on Facebook. Never forget there are many people that care for you! 🙂

    Dorothy Fleming

Leave a Reply

