My Life B.S. and A.S. Third Anniversary

Today marks the 3rd anniversary of the turning point in my life – surgery.  My life is clearly divided into B.S. (not what you think, but close) and A.S. – Before and After Surgery.  B.S. was healthy, active, fun, with hardly any problems. A.S. is miserable!!!  Why did they have to remove my poor thyroid? It had a small papillary cancer.  Removing the whole gland is convenient for the surgeon, not for the patient.  Now I have to live with the after effects for who knows how long.  Since that day, 20 July 2009, I have never been well…

My brother continues being slightly better, only to have unexpected relapses. He has now been in the hospital for 34 days. And do remember he lives in Buenos Aires, a place too far from us.  I can only call every day. It is extremely frustrating!

On the bright side, Valeria/Valerie is here with us, and she is still her whirlwind self.  She has been shopping, cooking, getting rid of much junk, and repairing things around the house.  I wanted to hire her, but she has a job and a special “friend” back in San Francisco.  At least, she’ll be here until Sunday.  She took the red eye coming here so she could gain one day! Then, the house will be empty again for some time, as Rosana and Rafael left not long ago.

All of a sudden I am receiving telephone calls, cards (by mail, yes) and special messages in Facebook from friends I have known for many years and from others I only know “virtually.”  No matter what, they cheer me up, more than they know!

Guido noted today at dinner that we should be glad we were able to travel so much. We have the memories, true, but for me they are not enough 😦  He now seems more inclined to accept moving to San Francisco, and he attributes our reluctance to me, saying I can’t embark on such a change in these conditions.  He himself is in no condition either now!  But it will happen, I know!

There is a house for sale behind us, and they had an open house  yesterday. Valeria went to take a look to see why they are asking $1 million for it!!!  The house had burned down and it took them over a year to reconstruct it, but apparently they have done a good job. It is huge too!  As long as Valeria was there, she told the realtor about our house and got an idea of how they would approach a sale.  I am willing to do it now, really!!!  We would not be leaving that much behind, and when Valeria asked Guido if he was going to sell the boat he said he was. She also insisted that he could have it taken to San Francisco.  At least he was not totally against it…

Now I start a new year of A.S., and all I hope is that I don’t reach another anniversary – one way or the other…

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Life B.S. and A.S. Third Anniversary

  1. monarisk says:

    Hi Martha, I’m so glad Valeria is visiting with you, and now you are considering moving to SF. It’s such a beautiful city. I used to go there every other month to report to my company headquarter. Don’t be afraid of changes. Our move to Florida turned out to be a blessing. I hope yours will be too.

    • martisima says:

      I hope so too, dear Mona! Who knows? We have to do it, no matter what. Besides, we are not too happy here – at least, I am not…

      Thanks to you too for being my friend!!!

  2. anna says:

    I’m so happy that Valeria is there with you – and agree with your other friend that change can be good! Hold out your hands to the universe –

  3. Kristin Simanek says:

    Change IS good, and Valerie and Rosana will be right there, you will love being close by. (plus, no more unbearable summer heat!!!)

  4. How wonderful, Martha! I’m happy to hear that you’re getting closer and closer to your move to San Francisco. It’s great that both of your daughters came to visit and Valerie is cooking up a storm for you and Guido 🙂

    I hope your new A.S. year will bring a boost in health, energy and balance. I’m sending you positive thoughts and prayers.

    • martisima says:

      Thanks so much, dear Sophia!!! I appreciate your positive thoughts and prayers, and I keep my arms open to receive them!

      ♥ღϠ₡ღ♥♥ LOVE ♥♥ღϠ₡ღ♥

  5. martisima says:

    CORRECTION – pointed out by Valerie. My surgery was on the 30th of July 2009, not the 20th… This also shows how my brain is functioning these days – it is not!!!! 😦

Leave a Reply

