Back here for now…

Are you wondering why I am back now?  So am I… I really don’t know why.  I just felt like writing something, as we wait for Sandy, the hurricane, to maybe come our way.  People are panicking, and some stores have run out of water and milk and … toilet paper.  I have always wondered why toilet paper is always included in the list of necessities in case of power outages.  Go figure.

A couple of neighbors have been kind to call and ask if we need anything.  They made my day.  But I need not worry, as I had a large delivery form Peapod (Giant supermarket) yesterday.  It was just the weekly stuff but, as Valerie said, we won’t starve. She knows I keep my two refrigerators well stocked.  Yes, two, for only two persons… Why not?

Anyway, if you want to know, I am still sick and trying to learn to live with it. I do exercise daily as much as possible.  It means 10 minutes on the treadmill and about 6 to 8 sit ups 😉  It’s better than nothing! And, of course, I do try to go up and down the stairs as much as possible. Does cooking count? Well, I do some of that together with Guido, and since our dishwasher has died, we use our hands!

Valeria will be coming for a week to help some more get rid of unnecessary stuff and take it to Goodwill.  She is very good at it!  Thanks to a former colleague who was smart enough to advertise it in the department at the University of Maryland, I was lucky to have some students interested in my books. They took many, but the shelves still are full.  They had no more room in the huge SUV! So, they will be coming back with reinforcements. Naturally, these books will help students in the course of a Ph.D. mostly.  The fiction is not too hard to find, but the books on literary criticism and theory and myth and autobiography and all that are hard to come by and quite expensive.  One library was interested in having them, but then I would have had to make a list so they could choose. I’d rather have students coming to get them, as they will benefit from them and they are truly appreciative!

It makes me even more heartsick to see my books flying away, as they have been with me for so long, but the time has come to let others enjoy them in a way I will not be able to again.  Still, it’s one more item I am giving up now and it makes me feel even worse.  On the other hand, I keep telling myself I am doing the right thing.

So, here’s hoping the storm treats us well. My cell phone is charged and, more importantly, so is my Kindle; batteries abound as well as flashlights; plenty of food.  This will be different from what we had in the Summer, as it is not hot and we won’t need the air conditioning. If it gets cold, there are always extra sweaters and blankets!!!

Good night, sweet dreams, keep warm…

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back here for now…

  1. anna says:

    I am relieved that you both survived the storm and have power. I wanted to comment about the books you’ve given away. I always feel that books are meant to be shared and aside from chocolate ;o) there is no more precious gift you can give. When you shared those books with students you enriched their lives and they in turn will enrich others. So I’m thinking MITZVAH!!!
    Stay warm!

Leave a Reply

