A Special Day…

Today marks the end of an era for me.  My car is gone. Yes, it is a material thing, but it has so much meaning…  It means that I can no longer drive it (or any other car yet). I know I had to do it – Guido and Valerie kept telling me to sell it, as it was sitting in the garage, and Guido had to take it out now and then.  When he didn’t do it for some time the battery would die.  Guess after it happened four times he got tired of having to call AAA.

But it was the right time for others.  There were two mechanics at the Infiniti dealer where I had bought it in 1995 who wanted it, and there was also a waiting list there, as they have stopped making this particular model. But there was also my cleaning woman’s husband (Laura and Ed), whose car had been totaled by a reckless driver, and who needed a car for work.  What best than to sell it to them? They can afford it, as I am not charging them much, and it makes me feel better because I know I am helping them.  When they came today to see it, and he liked it, I told him to take it away before I changed my mind. It was the best thing I could have done, as he also loved the bumper stickers! He wanted to leave a deposit before taking it, but I explained to him that I could not wait any longer to part with it. This was IT.

Yes, I miss Tara and the bumper stickers already, but I had ignored her for three years… Goodbye, and sleep well!!!

Tara

What made it better was that Laura brought us dinner – the best!  She knows how much we love pasta, as she is from Argentina with some Italian heritage too. She also knows I can’t make it now. So, she brought us this, from Villa della pasta – Turtei, ravioles trenzados rellenos de espinaca y ricota:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=loTKD4j691g.   Our dinner will be the best. This is all we need to eat to be in heaven 😉

Besides, for us, today does not mean much.  Since I am still sick and Guido got somewhat worse, I try to give thanks every day for what we have, not just one day.  If others prefer to do it this way, that’s fine with me, of course. If it makes them feel better and more virtuous, fine too. And if it is an excuse to get together with friends and family, I understand it.

This is a great cartoon, especially for today.

Photo: Great cartoon, especially for today.

I also want to thank those who still remember us and invite us, even though they know we cannot go anywhere – sorry to maybe disappoint them 😉  Guido is going to concerts at Strathmore occasionally (http://www.strathmore.org/) but that is only thanks to the kindness of Tere and Dick Wright, who come here to drive him to and from, with dinner in the bargain.  Music means a lot to him, and so does their friendship.

Thanks, too, to all those who have written and continue to ask about Rosana. She is recovering nicely from her surgery of “lady parts,” as Rafael has described it!

All we wish for now is that we can soon be with the only two persons in this country who really matter to us – our daughters!!!!

  Good night and good luck!
♥Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵Ʒ..•°*”˜ ☼¸♪♫-´♥♪♫”♥ ~.¸.☮
About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Special Day…

  1. anna says:

    I know that this is a sad moment for you – it’s a loss of a dear friend and a tie to another life,,,,but hopefully this mitzvah you are doing for Laura and Ed and Tara will make you feel better in time when you see the change it brings to their lives – and I mean Tara’s too! And it’s one step closer to your new life – my thoughts are with you and Guido today!

  2. martisima says:

    As usual, you are right on, cara Anna!!! Besides, as Laura will continue coming here, I’ll have news of Tara, and Ed can bring her occasionally so I can see her. It was totally ridiculous to have a car sitting in the garage… Yes- our new life should start soon!!!

  3. Rafael says:

    Wow. The end of an era indeed. I see that the car had a “Republicans for Voldemort” sticker. I have that exact one on my car, too! Your car was a model of the right of self-expression. Better for it to be on the road, even if that is with a new owner.

  4. martisima says:

    Yes, Rafael! The new owner loves the stickers!!! And, so far, most people prefer “Republicans for Voldermort”…

Leave a Reply

