Help Is On the Way!!!

Guido has gone to the airport to get Valerie, who is arriving today.  It makes me uneasy, as he can’t see too well at night. In fact, whenever he has had to go to concerts, Tere and Dick have come here to drive him there and back!  He needs to have his cataracts removed, and we were waiting to have Valerie around to help.  She will indeed help in many, many ways!  I can’t drive – not allowed – and anyway I no longer have my faithful car… and as you know, I have stopped relying on others to drive me. It’s too much of a hassle, and quite often I have to cancel doctors’ appointments at the last minute.

It all makes me feel somewhat “lost”, not being able to drive and relying on Guido for everything when he himself is not in great shape either.  All I hope for now is to finally find the house in San Francisco so that we can get out of here and be with our daughters. We know we’ll have lots of help there!

And in case some wonder – I am still not well at all.  Actually, I feel somewhat worse, and doctors are giving up on me or suggesting some exotic tests rather than saying “I don’t know”.  I keep reminding them I was perfectly well before my surgery, so what else could it be? They don’t know, so they feel better making up whatever comes to their minds.

I also feel that with a change of scenery, being in the city rather than the suburbs, and close to our daughters, their husband and significant other respectively, friends we already know about and have become close to in Facebook, things will change. I am sure my wellbeing is tied to my emotions, and since I feel alienated here, I am bound to feel better there. There will be walking to the stores, but most of all – good will and love!

Speaking about love, thanks to Deborah Crombie for having mentioned a film I had already seen but forgotten – Love Actually. I loved it! I had really forgotten so much about it…  And I also liked Hugo a lot.  Others have disappointed me – Hope Springs, Moonrise Kingdom, among others I probably have chosen to forget…

Writers keep me busy, and I love reading their manuscripts and sharing ideas. It keeps me “alive” and makes me feel useful – a very important point when you are retired! I am also reading a lot, and Guido gave me a Kindle paperwhite, so now I have two Kindles with over 700 books!

Guess I should be going now and taking care of dinner, but I wanted to write something, as I have not done it in some time now!

Good night!  The image should have been here, not separately, but I am still not good at these things… 😉

 

 

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Help Is On the Way!!!

  1. Leopoldo says:

    Eso de quedarte sin auto en USA es algo serio; lamento que te haya tocado y espero que siempre tengas alguien cerca para darte una mano. Aqui en Texas creo que (si me toca) sera peor! En cuanto a los escritores que te tienen ocupada; aceptarias cuentos cortos de una amateur ex-librero?
    Un abrazo y fuerza que el 2013 recien comienza
    Leopoldo

    • martisima says:

      Te había mandado varios mensajes y todos rebotaban…. Sabés por qué? Y, claro que sí acepto cuentos! Lo hago en inglés y en castellano por ahora… 😉

      besitos, martha

  2. Kristin Simanek says:

    I am so happy that Valerie is coming there to help you both. You have a great positive outlook about moving to SF, things will look up, are looking up, and you will be with your family, which is most important in healing, a true blessing!

    -Kristin

  3. martisima says:

    Thanks so much, Kristin! Indeed, family helps in healing!
    You’ll have to visit her there once we move too… 😉

  4. Pat Sachs says:

    Yes, great that Valerie is coming. I hope that you and Guido can move out to SF asap.

  5. Anna Amato says:

    I agree with all the previous posts – the sooner you move to SF and the people who love you the better – I just know there’s a real doctor out there (in the Universe somehwere) who will not give up on you – I also enjoyed Hugo tremendously and loved Love Actually – others have disappointed as well – Argo is actually very good and deserves to be in the running for an award also – I’m going back to work but I’m here to read your posts or listen to you in any format – blessed be my friend

Leave a Reply

