Snow and Surgery and Daughters and Move and Books…

Strange… Big, fat snowflakes have been falling for hours. They accumulate on the grassy spots, but the rest is somewhat clear. The temps have gone up to 33 degrees, so that may be the cause. I am not complaining. On the contrary. I am happy to see those snowflakes falling, but even happier that they are not clinging too much to the surfaces! Still, many places are closed. Even the doctor’s office announced it would close at 1:30… Sissies!!! 😉

snowflake

At least it is happening now and not next week. Rosana will be here on Sunday, and then she has to be chauffeur and nurse to Guido twice. He will have cataract surgery on the 12th for one eye and then on the 26th for the other one. Good thing we only have two eyes… 😉  And since I can’t take care of him, I am fortunate that our daughters are willing to help. We depend on their help,  but it is not easy for them.  They have work and family obligations too. Besides, getting here takes a long time!

Fortunately. we are getting closer to our dream of moving to California, but I don’t want to say much yet.  Please don’t ask, as I won’t tell.  My whole family has submitted to a vow of silence, so do not tempt them, please!  All in good time – I’ll let everyone know the day before we move, not sooner. I don’t want teary goodbyes…

And Rosana continues her crusade for solar energy, as she posted on Facebook:

My photo is in the New York times! Well, the online Opinion section (look for me in the middle of the photo!). More important, though, is the trend in crowdfunding solar this article talks about: http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/03/06/crowd-funding-clean-energy/
Crowdfunding Clean Energy
opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com
There are plenty of recent signs that we may be witnessing the coming of age of solar power.
We still have power, so I should try to do as much as possible now (have to make the focaccia soon, in case we lose power – it is very windy!)
Great day to curl up and read, too!!!  I am also extremely grateful for the trust some writers bestow on me by allowing me to help them with their manuscripts. Not that they need much help – they are all excellent, but another “eye” is always welcome to catch all those tiny typos.  It makes my life seem worthwhile, really. I am not being melodramatic- simply stating a fact. That is how I feel, and I want them and the whole world to know!
    [ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ]
   [    martha      l    \__
  [_…_________l_l____]
  “ (0) ““` * * ** (0)  “
About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow and Surgery and Daughters and Move and Books…

  1. Dorothy Fleming says:

    Martha, I am relieved that you haven’t been hit with the storm that was expected!!! 🙂 I will continue with crossed fingers that the wind doesn’t wreak any havoc on you!

    I was going to say that I am going to really miss you when you move, until it hit me we will still be as close as our keyboards! LOL I am happy for you & Guido to be so close to moving closer to your daughters 🙂 Guido will be happy to have his eyes fixed so he can fully appreciate his new habitat. I wish him a speedy recovery from his surgeries!

    I would say that the writers are the fortunate ones to have a proofreader of your calibre ensuring their works are in excellent shape for printing!! 🙂 You have a good evening & keep warm & safe.

    Big hugs, Dotty ❤

    • martisima says:

      You are very special, dear Dotty- a true friend. You have always comforted me when I needed you, and I really appreciate it!

      Everything is fine now – no more wind, and the little snow that fell has already melted. We were very lucky indeed!!!

      Big hugs to you too!
      martha ♥

Leave a Reply

