Another Lazy Sunday in San Rafael, California

Another lazy Sunday in San Rafael, sunny California, with very blue skies and temperatures in the 60s. Where is the rain?  I am starting to miss it – but not the snow!

I had very good responses to my previous post, so I decided to write another one.  I am also glad that some have understood my feelings so well. I hope that Jean-Paul does not mind if I quote him, because he has expressed exactly what I meant to convey: “ I know that whatever health problems you might have not just vanished but you seem to take them more in stride.”  Indeed, health is a subject I didn’t want to discuss, as it has become repetitive and boring.  Suffice it to say it is not good … yet!

Valerie’s wedding will be in June, but they have already started planning. There is so much to get done! I wish I could help, but so far they are doing everything themselves.  The wedding will be bi-cultural, bilingual, and “bi-gender”… There will be two ordained ministers – Andrés, our very good  “old” friend, will officiate at the event in Spanish (porteño)  and Laura, Valerie’s friend, will do it in English. The bride is Argentine, and the groom “Unitedstatesian” (“Estadounidense” -we use this term in Argentina, as we consider ourselves American too.)

Rosana’s and Valerie’s friends have helped greatly with our acclimatization. They visit, call, write, and really care.  This is something we have noticed in California – people are so much warmer and friendlier than what we have experienced in other places.  Still, I need to add two exceptions – Urbana (Illinois) and Amherst (Massachusetts)

Two days ago we drove around the area.  I mention this as a big thing because it is. We had so far gone mainly to doctors’ offices, and our daughters and Creg had taken us on leisure drives. The day was gorgeous, and we went on a winding road that had the mountains on the left and the Bay on the right.  It was incredibly beautiful, and we were also struck by all the boat marinas along the way. One thought came to our minds – why not have our Grand Banks, still in Maryland, trucked here? It is not that expensive, and we can have a marina 10 or 20 minutes away rather than one hour, as we had it in the Chesapeake Bay. But it is just a thought.  I don’t know if we are up to it, but both Valerie and Creg love sailing,  so, who knows???  Wishful thinking, almost certainly…

For the first time in many years the six of us were together on the 25th, and it feels good to know that this “trend” will continue.  It is all our family in this country.  For all this I am very grateful.  It makes me feel much better, at least emotionally. And it is a great feeling, indeed!

good-night

About martisima

After over 50 years of teaching literature to undergraduate and graduate students, I feel I have earned my retirement (it happened when I was 72, five years ago). I do miss the classroom, however, but not the meetings and all other requirements of the profession. I love teaching, and wish I could still do it. But now I read for pleasure, and watch films, and listen to all kinds of music (no TV, though). I love to travel, and hope I can resume doing it soon. I need to get over my health issues caused by thyroid surgery three years ago!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Lazy Sunday in San Rafael, California

  1. Leopoldo says:

    Me alegra mucho sentirlos mejor; muy acertado el cambio al Oeste.

  2. martisima says:

    Gracias. Leopoldo. Es mucho mejor que Washington, por cierto. Pero lo mejor de todo es la presencia de nuestras hijas, finalmente!

  3. Anna Amato says:

    I must agree with Jean-Paul; even though your health issues remain the same your outlook reflects the climate in California. All this makes me so happy for you – I no longer worry so much about you – I still worry – just not so much. I love your idea about moving the boat; why wait for god knows how much longer to sell it. Move it to California and see how many people enjoy it! Love that idea!

  4. martisima says:

    Yes, Anna, it is a great idea, but not an easy solution. We’ll see what happens in the next few months. Thanks for being my friend!!!!

Leave a Reply

